The Carnegie Libraries in Iowa Project (CLIP) is an interdisciplinary endeavor that seeks to chart the history of Iowa’s Carnegie libraries by creating a digital library of images and other documentary and statistical information. CLIP represents a partnership among students, staff, and faculty at The University of Iowa’s School of Library and Information Science (SLIS), The University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa’s library practitioners and members of Iowa communities. CLIP seeks to document the history and changes in Iowa’s Carnegie libraries by scanning each library’s collection of archival materials. As materials are collected and made available in a database record for each community, it will be possible to more completely study and understand the history of Iowa’s Carnegie libraries in the context of their evolving communities.

CLIP was begun in the Spring of 2002 under the leadership of Dr. Christine Pawley and Dr. James Elmborg, both faculty in The University of Iowa’s School of Library and Information Science. In May of 2006, Dr. Shana L. Stuart became the Director of CLIP.

In the Spring and Fall of 2008, three fellows from the University of Iowa’s School of Library and Information Science’s Digital Librarianship Program worked to expand CLIP’s digital collections.

In the fall of 2016, the State Historical Society, Inc., provided funding that allowed for substantial expansion of the CLIP website and processing of the digital archival materials.

The following graduate students and volunteers have contributed to CLIP research:

Mark F. Anderson, 2002
Amber (Johnson) Hunt, 2002-2003
Sarah English, 2002-2003
Chris Schipper, 2003
Leslie Ross, 2003-2005
Anne Madura Earle, 2005
Elizabeth Engle, 2005-2006
Kate (Pickett) McNair, 2007
Amber Carlson, 2008-2009
Annette Dean, 2008-2010
Jill Wehrheim, 2008-2010
Amy Slowik, 2009
Charissa Loftis
Sarah Luko, 2010-2011
Claire Szeszycki, 2016-2017
Bethany Kluender, 2016-2017
Damien Ihrig, 2017-2018
Willa C. Liburd Tavernier, 2018
Laura Michelson, Fall 2018
Kayla Hodgson, 2018
Hannah Hacker, 2018
Jeanne St. Christian, 2018
Alecs Mickunas, 2018
Ellen Mays, 2018
Kathryn Heffner, 2018
Rachel Rackham, 2018
Alicia Henle, 2018
Megan Dial-Lapcewich, 2018
Cristin Noonan, 2018
Russell Buchanan, 2018, 2019 (Pella history)
Annie Fitzgerald, 2019-2020
Larry Ray Hurto, 2020
Meaghan Lemmenes, Fall 2020
Bailey Adolph, Fall 2020
Olivia K. Waller, Spring 2021
Susan Henricks, PhD, 2021
Paige Wilkinson, 2021